Help needed- Sending notification/advertising to RaspberryPi-

Hi all,

First of all, I am fairly new to all this and I am working on a project using ruuvitag and a RaspberryPi. I am trying to detect movement and send notification/advertising from ruuvitag which then RPi receives (python script).

1. instead of Pi and ruuvitag connected to each other and sending the raw accelerometer all the time, is it possible to process accelerometer data on the ruuvitag side and send advertising when necessary?
    or is the other way more efficient?

2. and is it possible for ruuvitag to use NRF advertising on Espruino firmware?

I would appreciate any help or suggestion.

Thanks

1. I’m pretty sure your RuuviTag and RPi are not connected. RuuviTag is just advertising manufacturer specific Bluetooth packets (RAW mode) and the RPi listens. It’s more than possible to modify the firmware and then advertise only if certain accelerometer thresholds are exceeded but it’s a lot easier to just leave the Tag as it is listen and trigger alerts on the RPi side.

2. Yes :muscle:

Hi again, I am reading data broadcasted by ruuvitag from RPi using ruuvitag sensor python lib, however it takes long time to receive a new broadcasted data (10-15sec). is there a way to minimize this latency?. I would like to get realtime feedback from the tag. I am using modified weather station firmware shared in the forum.

If latency is critical, you should use connectable GATT profile and notifications. We’re building a GATT profile, you can follow the progress at ruuvilab

1 Like

Hi,

There should be no problem with that firmware. I use it everyday and the only problems I have are battery problems.
Which python library/program are you using? The one I use is the one I wrote. It can be found at https://github.com/frawau/aioblescan . You can also install it via
pip3 install aioblescan

To test try

python3 -m aioblescan -r

This expects your BLE hardware to be hci0 and it has only been tested on Linux

Cheers