Further sensors, like audio and light

Hey, newbie here,

Would there be interest in other sensors than the current ones, like sound pressure level sensor or light intensity? Would imagine that they wouldn’t be too difficult to implement on the current beacon board.

An audio sensor could be used for applications like engine monitoring, burglar alarm, wildlife monitoring etc. A light sensor could be used in similar applications but also as a trigger for lights in places where you don’t want to put cables for a sensor.

Both sensors would potentially carry private information, so if there is not yet the option available, then we really should have the option for encc ftrypting the beacon message payload.

I have some expertise on the audio side and could chip in if someone picks up the project. Through my work I have some further resources available for both audio calibration and encryption, but for hardware design I have zero experience.

Cheers,

Tom

https://research.aalto.fi/portal/tom.backstrom.html

Hello and happy New Year :slight_smile:

We’re actually looking into photodiodes for light intensity detection right now. Would you have some specific audio chip in mind? nRF52 supports I2S in case that is necessary, in general low power consumption or really fast start/stop of audio chipo would be a must.

nRF52 has AES-128 encryption HW built, in and we use it in some special cases. Key could be for example the device ID which can be read via NFC.

1 Like

I don’t know anything about hardware so I don’t know relevant chips. For sound pressure level measurements you’d get best accuracy with continuous measurement with energy accumulation, but I guess a short segment like 30ms would be passable as well. If it’s just a short segment, then a generic audio chip with built-in mems microphone could be simplest.

This discussion has some pointers https://electronics.stackexchange.com/questions/246798/whats-the-best-way-to-measure-sound-at-very-lower-power