Bee hive measurements

Hi
Hope this is the right place to post!
I want to use a Ruuvi tag in my beehive to measure temperature and humidity.
Could I log the data on something like a Raspberry Pi, which would be located in my shed, which is three metres away from the hive.
I have a deep cycle battery charged by a solar panel on the shed roof.
I would like to record the data at half hour intervals and store it then display the readings on a chart on the RPi when I visit the hive site. Also, if possible, use a second tag to record the ambient temp/humidity on this same display showing date, time etc.
I own a Raspberry Pi3 and know how to boot it up! I am capable of downloading a clean image onto the sd card and downloading packages to run examples with external connections to the Pi. I am not a programmer, so any software to achieve my aims would have to be idiot proof! It’s an age thing!
Has anyone used a tag in similar way to what I want to achieve?
Sorry if this sounds simple, but I was was born in the first half of the last century when anything labelled as wireless contained tubes/valves?
I would really like to know what goes on inside my hive and I think Ruuvi Tag would be a good way to find out?
Thanks in advance for all/any replies.
Regards
John W.

2 Likes

Hi!
I would say that this is the easiest solution to log data and get a nice graph at the moment:
https://f.ruuvi.com/t/ruuvitag-logger-and-viewer-on-raspberry-pi-3/

You need to install the packets listed and change some lines in the code but it should be fairly straight forward.

1 Like

Thanks samuelphy :slight_smile:

As Weather station is updated to data format 4 and SensorTag data format 3 is released. I’ll update next week Ruuvitag-logger to support those both format, if my daughter leave me some time.