Windows 7 BLE/RuuviTag Setup? (want to pass through to VM)

I wanted to modify RuuviCollector to include one or two more extended values (related to vapor pressure). I am not a Java programmer but I sure have modified existing Java code in the past, so I setup a Ubuntu VM on my Windows 7 host. Problem is, in order to pass through the USB Bluetooth (at least one RuuviTag out of my many) to my VM I first need to get to to connect to Windows 7. I am not familiar with this process, as I usually don’t use Bluetooth. Any pointers?

If this is a no go, I will use a real Ubuntu machine to run a test setup of RuuviCollector and Influx, and modify the code and rebuild the JAR there.

PS: I have more than a dozen RuuviTags monitored with my Pi Zero W using the RuuviCollector/Influx/Grafana setup but I can’t use that Pi for building obviously (could I?).

For purely development needs I recommend one of the approaches outlined in this question/issue so that you don’t need a VM at all; you can run hcidump remotely from your RPi Zero W (simultaneously with your “in-use” collector running there). An alternative, easier but less realistic option is to capture a short hcidump recording on the RPi into a text file and “playback” it on your development machine (also described in the question/issue).

If you go with the hcidump-over-ssh approach, do note that you don’t need to use the scan command on your “development instance”, as your “production instance” of the collector is already running it on the RPi (as long as the collector is running there of course). Basically: hcitool (the scan command) must be running exactly once on a device (trying to run multiple times simultaneously likely results in errors), while hcidump (the dump command) can be running any number of times on the same device; they will all receive identical feed of data as long as the scan is active.