Does ruvvitag support RPM?

Hi community,

is it possible to get the RPM using a ruuvitag?

I want to use it to measure the speed of my bike as detailed as possible. I know that there are sensors (e.g. from wahoo) that are capable of returning the RPM, but they are not very precise (e.g. a sudden stop is recorded with a lag of a few seconds).

Anyone has tried something similar?

Cheers,
Chris

Hello,

It would require quite a bit coding, but it should be doable with accelerometer and some signal processing to detect where the gravity points.

It probably is not doable with the standard firmware, as the data update rate of 1/s is way too slow to track the rotation of bike tire.

Hi,

thanks for the quick answer!
That means I’d also need the devkit to flash a custom firmware with an update rate of more than 1/s?

Do you know of any sample app that does this (or a sample app that is close to doing this)?

I’m a beginner in this area and I’m trying to figure out if ruvvitag is fitting to my needs.

Cheer,
Chris

You’d need to collect raw acceleration data with something like https://blog.ruuvi.com/monitoring-motor-operation-with-ruuvitag-df1a5739a926 and develop an algorithm to calculate the RPM.

Then you’d need to integrate your algorithm and sensor drivers into https://infocenter.nordicsemi.com/index.jsp?topic=%2Fcom.nordic.infocenter.sdk5.v12.0.0%2Fgroup__ble__cscs.html .

It might be doable, but workload would probably be quite heavy.

Thanks for the links - I’ll look into these… seems to be a very heavy task especially for a beginner!

One way would be hall -sensor soldered to ruuvitag within the enclosure, custom firmware to include its measurements and add regular bike computer magnet to your wheel. Then just position ruuvitag accordingly.